Tuition fee substitutes

 

On April 30, 2011, the law to improve the quality of teaching and studying at universities in North Rhine-Westphalia, or Study Quality Law for short, came into force. The law includes the funding guarantee for an annual minimum amount that will flow to the universities in North Rhine-Westphalia as compensation for the discontinuation of tuition fees from the 2011/2012 winter semester onwards. These quality improvement funds, so-called tuition fee substitutes, are distributed to the universities according to the number of students in the one and a half times the standard period of study and must be used earmarked for improving the quality of studies and teaching. They go to the universities in addition to their basic funding. It is ensured that the money does not lead to an increase in the reception capacity, but is used for additional staff, such as teachers and tutors.

In coordination with the students, the rectorate and the committees, RWTH Aachen University decided to transfer the distribution procedures and framework conditions for the tuition fees to the use of quality improvement funds. RWTH Aachen University continues to distribute the funds in advance of the expected income so that the measures can be planned and implemented at an early stage. The faculties receive 50 percent for their own initiatives, 25 percent also flow into the faculties on an application basis and 25 percent is spent centrally by the university on overarching measures.

With the introduction of quality improvement funds, commissions for quality improvement in teaching and studies were set up, in which more than half of the voting members must come from the group of students. In the "Applied Geosciences" teaching unit, the quality improvement committee is composed as follows:

Quality improvement commission of the Applied Geosciences teaching unit

group

name

function

electoral term

email adress

PROF

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Vorsitz

01.10.2020-30.09.2022

ruede@hydro.rwth-aachen.de

PROF

Prof. Dr. Jan Schwarzbauer

Stellv. Vorsitz

01.10.2020- 30.09.2022

jan.schwarzbauer@emr.rwth-aachen.de

WM

Dipl.-Geogr. Kathrin Heinzmann

Org. Betreuung

01.10.2020- 30.09.2022

heinzmann@geol.rwth-aachen.de

BTV

Dipl.-Bibl. Cornelia Lutter, M.A.

01.10.2020- 30.09.2022

cornelia.lutter@emr.rwth-aachen.de

STUD

Florian Thiex

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

florian.thiex@rwth-aachen.de

STUD

Jan David Wagner

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

jan.david.wagner@rwth-aachen.de

STUD

Alica Geldermann

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

alica.geldermann@rwth-aachen.de
STUD Joshua Labas 01.10.2021-30.09.2022 joshua.labas@rwth-aachen.de

STUD

Charlotte Draese

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

charlotte.draese@rwth-aachen.de

vSTUD

Frederik Klumpen

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

frederik.klumpen@rwth-aachen.de

vSTUD

Antonia Dix

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

antonia.dix@rwth-aachen.de

vSTUD

Christina Eickers

01.10.2021-30.09.2022

christina.eickers@rwth-aachen.de

Explanation:

vPROF/vWM/vBTV/vSTUD = Deputy of the respective group representatives

01.10.2021