Facts and figures


The Division of Earth Sciences and Geography is one of three departments of the Faculty of Georesources and Material Engineering. There are a total of nine faculties at RWTH Aachen University.

The Division of Earth Sciences and Geography includes 22 teaching and research areas with the same number of professors. Three Bachelor's and six Master's degree programs are offered. 

A large part of the institutes of the Division are located in the "Bergbaugebäude" in Wüllnerstraße. The striking three-story sandstone building is one of the oldest institute buildings at RWTH and was built between 1894 and 1897. Other institutes are located in Lochnerstraße or on the Melaten campus.

Approximately 210 students receive their Bachelor's or Master's degrees each year. 15 doctoral students complete their doctorates each year at institutes and chairs of the Division. In addition, there are one to two habilitations each year. At RWTH, 6,291 students completed their bachelor's or master's degree in the winter semester 2020/21.

In the winter semester 2020/21, 47 173 students were enrolled at RWTH. There were 6 830 students starting their bachelor's degree and 3,281 students starting their master's degree.

In December 2019, RWTH Aachen counted 550 professors and 5 828 academic staff. These are employed at a total of 260 institutes.

The financial volume of RWTH amounted to more than one billion euros in 2019.

In the CHE ranking of Die Zeit, RWTH Aachen University once ranked in the top group in the Department of Geosciences. In the university ranking of Wirtschaftswoche in 2020, RWTH Aachen took second place in the Department of natural sciences compared to other german universities. RWTH Aachen is one of the so-called universities of excellence with the three clusters "The Fuel Science Center", "Internet of Production" and "Matter and Light for Quantum Computing".

  Picture of the Bergbau-Building © GuG