Young Researcher Award


Young Researcher Award 2022 des ABC/J-Geoverbunds

Awardees Copyright: © P. Deb, S. Lechthaler, P. Bellanova, J. Heuzeroth

The Geoverbund ABC/J Young Academics Award honours outstanding doctoral theses and research work carried out at the member institutes of the Geoverbund ABC/J. We congratulate the 2022 award winners and look forward to the presentations on their exciting research work at the award ceremony on June 3, 2022 at the Geozentrum, University of Bonn during the Geoverbund ABC/J Summer Festival.

Dr. Paromita Deb from the Institute for Applied Geophysics and Geothermal Energy at the RWTH Aachen University was awarded 1st prize for her dissertation on Resource Assessment and Performance Predictions in Unconventional Geothermal Reservoirs.

Dr. Simone Lechthaler from the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management at the RWTH Aachen University received 2nd prize for her dissertation Microplastics in the Environment – Development of a Sample Preparation Method with Further Application and Evaluation in Fluvial and Marine Compartments.

Dr. Piero Bellanova from the Institute for Neotectonics and Natural Hazards at the RWTH Aachen University was awarded 3rd prize for his research on Tracing woody organic tsunami deposits of the 2011 Tohoku oki event in Misawa (Japan).

Dr. Johannes Heuzeroth was awarded a special prize for his dissertation on the topic Kausalität und Sprache im Geographieunterricht – Einflussfaktoren und Förderstrategien für das Entwickeln geographischer Kausalstrukturen im Rahmen des systemischen Denkens.

You can find further informationen on the website of ABC/J-Geoverbund.