Duration, Final Degree and Beginning of Study


The study structure is divided into two study phases: the Bachelor's phase, which lasts six semesters in the geographical degree programmes, and the Master's phase, which lasts four semesters.

The Bachelor's degree is the first professional qualification. Students who wish to deepen their knowledge from the Bachelor's programme extend their studies with a Master's degree. This is accompanied by an increasing specialisation in one of the degree programmes offered. Thus, the Master's programme serves as an entry into an academic career or qualifies students for a leading position in the non-university labour market.

At the Department of Geograpy we offer the Bachelor's degree in Applied Geography as well as the Master's degree in Applied Geography and Economic Geography. Detailed information can be found on the website of the department.

The degree programmes start each winter semester.