Partner Universities and International Networks


International relationships are of great significance to RWTH Aachen. Cooperation and competition with top international universities set benchmarks for the university's own development, enable effective networks in research and teaching, and ensure the international visibility of RWTH Aachen as an education, research, and service institution.

RWTH Aachen currently has partnerships with 563 universities worldwide, and university wide agreements with 122 of them. An overview of partner universities, which offer study abroad placements, can be found here.

Additionally, RWTH Aachen has maintained a successful strategic partnership with the renowned Tsinghua University in Beijing since 2013 and is continuing to expand this partnership.

RWTH Aachen's longterm collaboration with the Indian Institute of Technology Madras has been promoted since 2016 within the framework of a strategic partnership as well.

Since the beginning of 2017, RWTH Aachen has also set up a further strategic partnership with the Canadian University of Alberta .

Additionally, RWTH Aachen is a member of a series of organizations and networks. Specific examples include:

CESAER – Conference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research

EUA – European University Association

IAU – International Association of Universities

IDEA League – Network consisting of Imperial College London, Delft University of Technology, ETH Zurich, RWTH Aachen University and Paris Tech

TIME – Double Diploma Network, coordinated by the cole Centrale de Paris

UNITECH International – Association of European technical universities with enterprises for the promotion of management skills and international orientation of engineering students