Board of Governors

  RWTH Aachen Board of Governors members Thilo Vogel

The University's Board of Governors from left to right: Professor Margret Wintermantel, Professor Siegfried Russwurm, Irmtraut Gürkan, Dr. Bernd Bohr,  Professor Gudrun Gersmann, Dr. Robert G. Gossink, Dr. Lucia Reining, Professor Dierk Raabe,  Dr. Anna Nelles. Professor Jürgen Mlynek is not pictured.



+49 241 80 96748



The Board

The Board of Governors advises the Rectorate and oversees its management of university governance.

A new Board of Governors was appointed in November 2012 till November 2017, after the five-year term of the first RWTH Aachen Board of Governors passed.

The Board of Governors is currently made up of ten external members. External board members comes from industry, business, and academia; one member should have gained the trust of the students. The Equal Opportunities Officer and the members of the Rector's Office belong to the Board in an advisory function. Board of Governors' meetings are not open to the public. However members can call in guests to individual meetings or consult with them on points of order.

Information on the topics under discussion at past Board meetings can be found on our intranet site at Hochschulrat / Board of Governors.

Responsibilities of the Board Governors in Accordance with Section 21 of the Higher Education Autonomy Act include

  • Participation in the election and dismissal of members of the Rector's Office
  • Provision of advice to the Rector's Office and supervision of its management activities
  • Approval of the draft of the Target Agreement between the University and the Federal State of NRW and of the Budget Plan
  • Response to the University Development Plan and the Rector's Office's statement of accounts
  • Approval of the Annual Financial Statement and approval of the Rector's Office

Members of the Board of Governors

Name Position
Dr.-Ing. Bernd Bohr

Former Member of the Board of Management, Robert Bosch GmbH

Prof. Dr. Gudrun Gersmann

Chair for Early Modern History at the University of Cologne

Member of the Board of Managers for the Board of Governors
Dr. Robert G. Gossink

Chairman of the Board, University Hospital Aachen (UKA)

Diplom-Volkswirtin Irmtraut Gürkan

Director of Finances at the University Hospital Heidelberg

Prof. Jürgen Mlynek

Retired President of the Helmholtz Association of National Research Centres

Member of the Board of Managers for the Board of Governors
Dr. Anna Nelles

Post-doctoral DFG Research Fellow, University of California Irvine, USA

Prof. Dr. Dierk Raabe

Chief Executive Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH  

Dr. Lucia Reining

1st class Senior Researcher at CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)

Coordinator of the LSI (Laboratoire des Solides Irradiés) Theoretical Spectroscopy Group, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm

Awarded Extraordinary Professorship in Mechatronics by the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg

Former Member of the Managing Board of Siemens AG

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Margret Wintermantel

President of the German Academic Exchange Service