Teaching Award

Teaching award winners 2018 Copyright: Cornelia Lutter The teaching awardees of 2018 together with student council representatives.

Since 2010, the teaching award of the teaching unit Applied Geosciences of RWTH Aachen University is awarded by the student council Fachschaft GeoRes. The awardees are chosen yearly by students and traditionally announced on the GeoTag. The award is financed through the quality improvement fund.

The award generally consists of the following three categories:

  • Best teaching
  • Best innovations in teaching / Teaching foster award
  • Outstanding perfomances

The awardee may use the prize money as they like. However, the general rules and regulations concerning the use of the quality improvement fund must be observed.


Overview of all teaching awards




2018 Outstanding performances for his illustrative teaching concepts, which maintain a healthy balance between comprehensible instruction and scientific challenge, as well as the constant search for new and innovative teaching ideas. Prof. Florian Wellmann, PhD
Best teaching for his bustling way of inspiring students, his interactive way of lecturing, as well as his sophisticated explanations, which all together allow student understanding and interest to grow. Dr. Lars Peters
Teaching foster award as a sign of student appreciation of his enthusiasm during lectures and with the hope that this drive is not lost in future semesters. Prof. Dr. Thomas Wagner

Outstanding performances for her cheerful way of teaching, her her engagement at the Crystallographic Institute, in the geo-magazine Kompass, and at the examination board AGW.

Antje Hirsch (M.Sc.)

Best teaching for his enthusiastic way of inspiring and motivating students and teaching geology in the field.

PD Dr. Stefan Back

Best innovations in teaching for his course "Numerical Reservoir Engineering", where he manages to convey a complex topic in a vivid and passionate way.

Prof. Florian Wellmann, PhD


Outstanding performances for his unremitting commitment to the interests of students in examination boards, the Devision and the quality improvement fund committee.

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Best teaching for the field course "Structural Geology" in Oman

Prof. Dr. Janos Urai, Dr. Christoph von Hagke, and Arne Grobe (M.Sc.)

Outstanding performances in the field of supervising students during classes, field courses, and theses.

Dr. Tomas Fernandez-Steeger

Best teaching for the course "Reservoir Quality Prediction Modelling"

Anett Hufe (M.Sc.)

Best innovations in teaching in the field of using digital microscopy during classes

Prof. Dr. Janos Urai


Best teaching for the course "Applied Geophysics I/II"

Dr. Norbert Klitzsch

Outstanding performances for his commitment for student needs as head of the examination board for the bachelor's degree Georesources Management.

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde


Best teaching for the course "Well Log Analysis"

Dr. Lars Reuning

Teaching foster award for the course "Rock and Mineral Description"

Dr. Barbara Mösle


Best teaching for the course "Geological Mapping"

PD Dr. Stefan Back

Best innovations in teaching for his use of sandbox models in different courses

Prof. Dr. Janos Urai

Outstanding performances

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde


Best teaching for the course "Geology of Oil and Natural Gas I/II"

Prof. Dr. Ralf Littke

Best innovations in teaching for his course "Acid Mining Waters"

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Outstanding performances for his exceptional commitment to students during the course "Geological Mapping"

PD Dr. Stefan Back


Best teaching

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Rüde

Outstanding performances

Prof. Dr. Klaus Reicherter